McGill Law team places second in 2009 Laskin Moot


McGill Law’s team, composed of students Keith Serry, Stéphanie Bachand, Palma Paciocco and Owen Ripley, placed second overall at the 2009 Laskin Moot, out of 19 universities who participated this year.

This year, the contest took place in London, Ontario, from February 26 to 28, 2009, and the problem, Samuel de Champlain v. The Queen, raised questions of constitutional and administrative law related to the judicial appointment process to the Federal Court of Appeal.  

Their proud coaches are Assistant Professor Alana Klein and Law alum Alexander Pless, BA’94, BCL/LLB’98, of the Federal Department of Justice. The Faculty would also like to thank the faculty members who graciously judged practice rounds.

Given the competition's focus on constitutional and public law, and its requirement that members of each team plead in both official languages, McGill has a long history of success in the Laskin. Now in its 24th year, the moot is named for the late Right Honourable Bora Laskin, Chief Justice of Canada from 1973 to 1984.

On the photo: the McGill team with their prize and Justice Roberts from the Newfoundland Court of Appeal. From left to right: Keith Serry, Stéphanie Bachand, Palma Paciocco, Justice Roberts and Owen Ripley.