Quick Links

McGill announces live webcasts of varsity sports

News

Published: 10 Sep 2010

 

MONTREAL -- McGill Athletics and Recreation has teamed up with the Streaming Sports network to webcast all home football games in addition to selected varsity home events in other sports for the 2010-11 season, which can be watched free of charge, courtesy of Dominos Pizza, Ye Olde Orchard Pub, Red Bull and Molson's.

 

Student broadcasters will be filming and providing play-by-play and colour commentary during the live webcasts, which will be archived on the SSN site.

 

The McGill University football home opener against Bishop's on Saturday (Sept. 11 at 1 p.m.) will be webcast live on SSN. The game can be viewed at the following link http://www.ssncanada.ca/game/1483/ and will feature Matt Chesser doing play-by-play with Kamran Aryah providing analysis.

 

For all McGill webcasts, a direct link to SSN is posted on the McGill Athletics and Recreation home page (www.mcgill.ca/athletics) and all varsity team pages.

 

McGill is one of six new institutions in the SSN lineup and brings the number of schools webcasting with SSN to 20, including Acadia, Bishop's, Brock, Carleton, Concordia, Dalhousie, Lakehead, Laurentian, McGill, St. Francis Xavier,  UQAM, Alberta, Guelph, UNB, Ottawa, Toronto, Waterloo, Western Ontario,  Windsor and York.

 

"We are excited to add more schools to our network this season," says SSN president Bengt Neathery. "More and more schools are realizing the positive impact of webcasting games. Our goal is to have every school on our network in the near future and we have taken another step toward that this year."

 

Here are the dates for the fall semester that McGill is planning on streaming home games:

 

Football:

Sat Sep 11 @ 13h00

Fri Sep 17 @ 19h00

Sat Oct 2 @13h00

Sat Oct 16 @ 13h00

Sat Oct 23 @ 13h00

 

Redmen Hockey:

Mon Oct 18 @19h00

Sat Oct 23 @19h00

Sat Nov 6 @19h00

 

Martlet Soccer:

Thurs Sept 16 @18h30

Fri Sep 24 @18h30

Fri Oct 1 @18h30

Fri Oct 15 @ 19h00

Fri Oct 29 @18h30

 

Redmen Soccer:

Thurs Sept 16 @20h30

Fri Sep 24 @20h30

Fri Oct 1 @20h30

Fri Oct 15 @ 20h00

Fri Oct 29 @20h30

 

Martlet Basketball:

Sat Nov 13 @18h00

Fri Dec 3 @18h00

 

Redmen Basketball:

Sat Nov 13 @20h00

Fri Dec 3 @20h00

 

Martlet Volleyball:

Fri Nov 12 @19h00

 

Martlet Hockey:

Fri Oct 8 @19h00

Sat Oct 30 @14h00

 

Martlet Rugby:

Fri Oct 15 at Bishop's @20h00

 

Redmen Rugby:

Wed Oct 13 at Bishop's @20h30

 

 

 

SOURCE:

Earl Zukerman

514-398-7012

 

 

 

Category:
Source Site: /channels