CCA Charrette


Two McGill teams shared first prize in the 17th CCA (Canadian Centre for Architecture) Inter-university Charrette (November 10-13, 2011), Liquid City.  Team 78 (Hydro cosm: Lance Moore, Alexandre Hamel, and Maxime Leclerc) and Team 26 (Down with the Linear Functional: Gabrielle Poirier, Gabrielle Marcoux, Philippe Larocque, and Marc-Antoine Chartier-Primeau), both of McGill, won first prize (ex aequo) in a competition in which a total of 68 teams took part.  Team 72 (Aqua Fest: Baharan Khosravi, Reena Mistry, Sarah Wu Martinez, Tracy Sun, and Seema Fariha), also of McGill, were awarded one of four Honorable Mentions.

The contest – organized by the CCA and the École de design of Université du Québec à Montréal, in collaboration with McGill University and Université de Montréal and with the participation of Université Laval, Carleton University, Ryerson University and the University of Toronto – challenged students and interns by inviting them to reflect on issues and problematics in contemporary architecture, on the theme of Liquid City.

The challenge was to posit a new relationship between the water and city living; to think of innovative ways to imagine and celebrate the presence of water in the urban environment and the daily life of Montreal. The Charrette invited participants to propose specific architectural, urban and landscape interventions and public works which would cause us to reconsider the presence of water in the city as civic responsibility, as practical amenity, as recreational diversion, as public infrastructure and eventually as work of art.

The jury, chaired by Jacques Rousseau, architect, Plania (Montréal), was composed of James Brown, architect, Brown & Storey Architects (Toronto), Julien De Smedt, architect, JDS / Julien De Smedt Architect (Copenhagen, Denmark) and Juliette Patterson, landscape architect, Catalyse Urbaine (Montréal).

For full details, please visit the CCA Charrette webpage at: