Quick Links

2012 Schedule announced for 132nd season of football at McGill

News

Published: 9 May 2012

 

MONTREAL - The McGill University football schedule has been finalized for the team's 132nd season this fall. The Redmen, which will feature 75 returnees under head coach Clint Uttley, opens with a pre-season game against Queen's in Kingston on Aug. 26, renewing a long-standing rivalry which dates back to 1884.

 

The 2012 campaign marks the 25th year since McGill last won the Vanier Cup national championship and the Redmen will begin their quest when the regular season opens at Laval in Quebec City on Sept. 2, in a contest that will be telecast nationally on SRC, the CBC's French-language network. The Redmen are slated to play five games at Molson Stadium, beginning with their home opener against Sherbrooke on Sept. 7.

 

McGill's other home opponents include Mt. Allison (Sept. 14), Laval (Sept. 21), Bishop's (Oct. 4) and Concordia, in the Shaughnessy Cup / Homecoming Game (Oct. 13). Aside from the season opener at Laval, other road games will be played at Bishop's (Sept. 29), at Montreal (Oct. 20) and at Sherbrooke (Oct. 27).

 

The RSEQ (Quebec conference) playoffs begin on Nov. 3 and culminate with the league's Dunsmore Cup game on Nov. 10. This year, the Quebec victor will host the Atlantic champion in the Uteck Bowl national semifinal (Nov. 17), with the winner advancing to the CIS Vanier Cup game at the Rogers Centre in Toronto (Nov. 23) during Grey Cup week.

 

2012 McGill Football Schedule

Sun., Aug. 26, McGill at Queen's, 1 p.m. (pre-season)

Sun., Sept. 2, McGill at Laval, 2 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 7, Sherbrooke at McGill, 7 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 14, Mt. Allison at McGill, 7 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 21, Laval at McGill, 7 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 29, McGill at Bishop's, 1 p.m.

Thurs., Oct. 4, Bishop's at McGill, 7 p.m. (Thanksgiving weekend)

Sat., Oct. 13, Concordia at McGill, 1 p.m. (Homecoming /Shaughnessy Cup)

Sat., Oct. 20, McGill at Montreal, 1 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 27, McGill at Sherbrooke, 1 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 3, RSEQ Semifinal, TBA

Sat., Nov. 10, RSEQ Final (Dunsmore Cup) , TBA

Sat., Nov. 17, CIS Semifinal final (Uteck Bowl; AUS @ RSEQ) , TBA

Fri., Nov. 23, CIS Final (Vanier Cup @ Toronto) , TBA

 

HOME GAMES IN BOLD

 

SOURCE:
Earl Zukerman
McGill Athletics & Recreation
514-398-7012

 

Category:
Source Site: /channels