2012 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence


Canadian Architect has announced the winners of the 2012 Awards of Excellence, given each year to architects and architecture graduates for buildings in the design stage. One of only two national award programs devoted exclusively to architecture, the Awards of Excellence have recognized significant building projects in Canada on an annual basis since 1968. This year's winners were selected by a jury consisting of Donald Chong of Williamson Chong Architects in Toronto, Marie-Chantal Croft of Coarchitecture in Quebec City, and Bruce Haden of DIALOG in Vancouver. Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors considered response to the program, site, geographical and social context, and evaluated physical organization, structure, materials and environmental features. Nine Awards of Excellence were given, including the following to School alumni and teachers:

Atelier Big City (Adjunct Professor Howard Davies, Randy Cohen and Anne Cormier, all B.Arch. 1982), Fichten Soiferman et Associés (Jacob Fichten, B.Arch. 1967; Gerald Soiferman, B.Arch. 1963), L’OEUF (Bernard Olivier, B.Arch. 1992, M.Arch. 1997; Danny Pearl, B.Arch. 1986; Morgan Carter, Course Lecturer) for the Centre Culturel de Notre-Dame-de-Grâce in Montreal, Quebec.

L’OEUF for the House in Four Fields in La Conception, Quebec.

Paul Laurendeau (B.Arch. 1991) | Francois R Beauchesne | Architectes en Consortium for the Ampthithéâtre Trois-Rivières sur Saint-Laurent in Trois-Rivières, Quebec.

T B A | Thomas Balaban Architecte (B.Arch. 1995) for the Spa Le St-Jude in Montreal, Quebec.