Quick Links

What Justice for Syria and ISIS?

Événement

9 Mar 2017 18:00
à
20:00
Pavillon Chancellor-Day : Salle du Tribunal-école Maxwell-Cohen (NCDH 100), 3644, rue Peel Montréal Québec Canada , H3A 1W9
Price: Gratuite et ouverte au grand public

La Faculté de droit accueille Son Excellence Christian Wenaweser pour la Table ronde Proulx 2017.

Le conflit en Syrie a engendré la plus grande crise humanitaire de notre temps. Des millions de réfugiés ont fui la guerre et des dizaines de milliers de personnes sont devenues victimes de crimes contre l'humanité commis par le gouvernement syrien. Le soi-disant «État islamique» a également commis des génocides et d'autres crimes contre des groupes minoritaires tels que les Kurdes Yazidi dans l'Irak voisin. Pourtant, en dépit de l'indignation généralisée face à ces atrocités, la communauté internationale a fait bien peu pour tenir les auteurs responsables.

La quête pour la justice en Syrie est jalonnée d’obstacles, mais la justice demeure un élément essentiel d'une paix durable dans la région. Devant les contraintes politiques au sein de l'ONU, quelle justice pouvons-nous obtenir concrètement pour le peuple syrien?

Conférencier principal:

Monsieur l'ambassadeur Christian Wenaweser, représentant permanent du Liechtenstein auprès des Nations Unies et ancient Président de l’Assemblée des États parties au Statut de
Rome de la Cour pénale internationale, parlera de la mise en place un mécanisme d’enquête international, impartial et indépendant sur les crimes les plus graves commis en Syrie à l'ONU.

Il sera rejoint par les panélistes suivants:

  • Betsy Apple: Directrice, Open Society Justice Initiative
  • Fannie Lafontaine: Professeure de droit, Université Laval
  • Sarwat Bashi: Chercheur O'Brien à McGill et activiste syrien
  • Barzan Barzani: chercheur postdoctorant à McGill et activiste kurde d'origine iraquienne

Discours d'ouverture par le professeur Payam Akhavan et par l'ancien Ministre de la justice Irwin Cotler.

Le Fonds des conférences commémoratives Michel Proulx

Le Fonds des conférences commémoratives Michel Proulx a été créé par la famille et les amis de feu Michel Proux, et par les anciens de la Faculté de droit, afin d'honorer la mémoire d'un avocat, juge et professeur de droit pénal dévoué. L'engagement de Michel Proulx envers la Faculté de droit était indéfectible. Il a prodigué conseils et encouragements à des générations d'étudiants, de professeurs et de doyens, qui se souviennent tous de lui avec appréciation.

Site de source: /law
Classification:

Quick Links

What Justice for Syria and ISIS?

Event

9 Mar 2017 18:00
to
20:00
Chancellor Day Hall : Maxwell Cohen Moot Court (NCDH 100), 3644 rue Peel Montreal Quebec Canada , H3A 1W9
Price: Free and open to the public

The Faculty of Law welcomes His Excellency Christian Wenaweser for the 2017 Proulx Roundtable Conference.

Syria has become the biggest humanitarian crisis of our time. Millions of refugees have fled the war, and tens of thousands have become victims of crimes against humanity committed by the Syrian Government.  The so-called "Islamic State" has also committed genocide and other crimes against minority groups such as the Yazidi Kurds in neighbouring Iraq. Yet despite widespread outrage at these atrocities, the international community has done little to hold the perpetrators accountable.

The search for justice in Syria has been elusive, but it remains a vital ingredient of a sustainable peace in the region. Given the political constraints within the UN, what justice can we realistically achieve for the people of Syria? 

Keynote speaker:

Ambassador Christian Wenaweser, Representative of Liechtenstein to the United Nations and former President of the International Criminal Court Assembly of States Parties, will discuss the UN’s new International, Impartial and Independent Mechanism to investigate these atrocities, and other initiatives for justice in Syria.

He will be joined by a roundtable consisting of:

  • Betsy Apple: Advocacy Director for the Open Society Justice Initiative
  • Fannie Lafontaine: Professor of Human Rights law at Laval University
  • Sarwat Bashi: McGill O'Brien Fellow and Syrian human rights activist
  • Barzan Barzani: McGill Post-Doctoral Fellow and Iraqi Kurdish human rights activist

With Introductory remarks by former UN prosecutor Professor Payam Akhavan and former Minister of Justice and Attorney-General of Canada Professor Irwin Cotler.

The Michel Proulx Memorial Lecture Fund

The Michel Proulx Memorial Lecture Fund was established by family, friends and alumni, to honour the memory of Michel Proulx: lawyer, judge and dedicated teacher of criminal law at McGill.His commitment to the Faculty was constant and devoted, providing counsel and encouragement to students, teachers and deans. As a result, he left his mark upon generations of students at McGill.

Source Site: /law
Classified as: