Quick Links

Civil Society: Democracy, Dissent and the Law

Événement

23 Oct 2013 17:30
à
19:00
Pavillon Chancellor-Day : Tribunal-école Maxwell-Cohen (NCDH 100), 3644, rue Peel Montréal Québec Canada , H3A 1W9

Cette année, la Conférence Macnaughton sera prononcée par Maina Kiai, Rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur le droit de réunion pacifique et d’association, qui s'entretiendra de démocratie, de dissidence et de la loi dans le contexte des sociétés civiles. 

Le conférencier

M. Maina Kiai est le Rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur le droit de réunion pacifique et d’association. Il a pris ses fonctions le 1er mai 2011, pour une période initiale de trois ans.

Diplômé de droit des universités de Nairobi et d’Harvard, M. Kiai a passé les vingt dernières années à faire campagne pour les droits de l’homme et les réformes constitutionnelles au Kenya – notamment en tant que fondateur et directeur exécutif de la non-officielle Commission kenyane pour les droits de l’homme, puis en tant que président de la Commission nationale kényane des droits de l’homme (2003 – 2008), grâce à laquelle il a acquis une réputation nationale pour son plaidoyer courageux et efficace contre la corruption, pour la réforme politique et contre l’impunité après les violences qui ont touché le Kenya en 2008 et qui ont causé la mort de milliers de personnes.

De juillet 2010 à avril 2011, M. Kiai a été le directeur exécutif du Conseil international sur les politiques des droits humains, un groupe de réflexion basé à Genève qui a produit des rapports et des notes d’informations avec des recommandations générales. M. Kiai a également été directeur du programme Afrique d’Amnesty International (1999-2001) et directeur Afrique du International Human Rights Law Group (aujourd’hui Global Rights, 2001-2003). Il a également occupé des postes de chercheur à l’Institut danois des droits de l’homme (Copenhague), au Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars (Washington) et au sein de TransAfrica Forum (Washington).

M. Kiai a également régulièrement informé les kenyans de leurs droits fondamentaux par le biais de divers moyens de communications.

Les Conférences Macnaughton

Financée par des dons effectués par les promotions de 1975 et 1977 à l'occasion de leur 10e anniversaire et grâce à la générosité du sénateur Alan Aylesworth Macnaughton, CP OC CR (1903 – 1999), la Conférence biannuelle Alan Aylesworth Macnaughton est consacrée aux questions modernes de politique d'ordre public. Le sénateur Macnaughton, BA'26, BCL'29, LLD'92, était président de la Chambre des communes, fondateur et président honoraire de Fonds mondial pour la nature au Canada, avocat chez Martineau Walker et membre du comité consultatif de la Faculté de droit.

Site de source: /law
Classification:

Quick Links

Civil Society: Democracy, Dissent and the Law

Event

23 Oct 2013 17:30
to
19:00
Chancellor Day Hall : Maxwell Cohen Moot Court (NCDH 100), 3644 rue Peel Montreal Quebec Canada , H3A 1W9

This year, the Macnaughton Lectures welcome Maina Kiai, UN Special Rapporteur on the Rights to Freedom of Peaceful Assembly and Association, who will speak on democracy, dissent and the law inside civil society.

About the speaker

Mr. Maina Kiai is the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the rights to freedom of peaceful assembly and of association. He took up his functions on 1 May 2011, for an initial period of three years.

A lawyer trained at Nairobi and Harvard Universities, Mr. Kiai has spent the last twenty years campaigning for human rights and constitutional reform in Kenya – notably as founder and Executive Director of the unofficial Kenya Human Rights Commission, and then as Chairman of Kenya’s National Human Rights Commission (2003-2008), where he won a national reputation for his courageous and effective advocacy against official corruption, in support of political reform, and against impunity following the violence that convulsed Kenya in 2008, causing thousands of deaths.

From July 2010 to April 2011, Mr. Kiai was the Executive Director of the International Council on Human Rights Policy, a Geneva-based think-tank which produces research reports and briefing papers with policy recommendations. Mr. Kiai was also the Director of Amnesty International’s Africa Programme (1999-2001), and the Africa Director of the International Human Rights Law Group (now Global Rights, 2001-2003). He held research fellowships at the Danish Institute for Human Rights (Copenhagen), the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars (Washington), and the TransAfrica Forum (Washington).

Mr. Kiai has regularly been an advocate informing and educating Kenyans through various media about their human rights.

About the Macnaughton Lectures

Funded by endowments from the Classes of '75 and '77 on the occasion of their 10th anniversaries and launched in 1994 thanks to the generosity of Senator Alan Aylesworth Macnaughton, PC OC QC (1903 –  1999), the bi-annual Alan Aylesworth Macnaughton Lecture is devoted to contemporary issues of public policy. Senator Macnaughton (BA'26, BCL'29, LLD'92) was Speaker of the House of Commons, founder and Honorary Chairman of the Canadian World Wildlife Fund, Counsel at Martineau Walker, and a member of the Faculty of Law Advisory Board.

Co-sponsored by the Aisenstadt Equality and Community Initiative, and the Katharine A. Pearson Chair in Civil Society and Public Policy.

Source Site: /law
Classified as: