Quick Links


What men can learn from women

Fri, 2014-07-04 11:08

Senior female executives are better at collaboration, empathy, listening and are more sensible about risk, according to Karl Moore, associate professor at McGill's Desautels Faculty of Management. He tells Della Bradshaw that these skills are of growing importance in today's corporate world, and that men can learn them.

Watch video: Financial Times

Source Site: /desautels

Scientists find important piece in the brain tumour puzzle

Fri, 2014-07-04 10:04

Scientists at the Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital, McGill University and McGill University Health Centre have shown that a member of the protein family known as SUMO (small ubiquitin-like modifier) is a key to why tumour cells multiply uncontrollably, especially in the case of glioblastoma. The SUMO family proteins modify other proteins and the SUMOylation of proteins are critical for many cellular processes.

Contact Information

Contact: Anita Kar
Organization: The Neuro

PhD Oral Defense: The response of canola (Brassica napus [L.]) to a novel set of plant growth regulators: microbial signal molecules

Tue, 2014-07-08 13:15
Raymond Building : R2-013, 21111 Lakeshore Road St Anne de Bellevue Quebec Canada , H9X 3V9

PhD Oral Defense of Timothy D. Schwinghamer, Department of Plant Science

Source Site: /macdonald
Classified as: 

OBOE SECRETS, a new book release by Associate Professor Jacqueline Leclair, was favourably reviewed in the International Double Reed Journal.

Thu, 2014-07-03 15:28

In Oboe Secrets: 75 Performance Strategies for the Advanced Oboist and English Horn Player, Jacqueline Leclair tackles the oboe’s reputation as an especially difficult instrument and illustrates how oboists and English horn players can overcome common challenges. Leclair draws on her experience as a performer and instructor, offering practical tips and sometimes revolutionary ideas for rethinking oboe pedagogy. Leclair also looks at performance strategies in the areas of equipment maintenance and management, physical health, and performance technique.

Source Site: /music
Classified as: 

Vanessa Blais-Tremblay, PhD student in Musicology and Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies has won the SOCAN 2014 Writings on Canadian Music.

Thu, 2014-07-03 15:18

Vanessa Blais-Tremblay is the recipient of a 2014 SOCAN Foundation/CUMS Award for Writings on Canadian Music for her paper entitled: "Don't Pocohontas Me: Modernity and Transnational Politics in Tanya Tagaq's Throat Games with Concert Stage String Ensembles."  

Source Site: /music
Classified as: 

Student initiative for Lac-Megantic

Thu, 2014-07-03 14:07

Desautels students Bernard d'Arche and Cécile Branco discuss their Dobson Cup winning initiative on Breakfast Television Montreal.

View video here.

Source Site: /desautels

REZ Wireless maintenance Thursday, July 3

Thu, 2014-07-03 05:00 - 07:00

Maintenance will be performed on the REZ wireless network (wpa.rez.mcgill.ca) on Tuesday, July 3, 2014 starting at 5:00 am lasting approximately 2 hours. You may be disconnected from the wireless network for a brief period of time (approximately 5 to 10 minutes) during the maintenance period.

This maintenance will not affect the McGill campus wireless network. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Source Site: /it

Campus Wireless maintenance Tuesday, July 8

Tue, 2014-07-08 05:00 - 07:00

Maintenance will be performed on the campus wireless network on Tuesday, July 8, 2014 starting at 5:00 am lasting approximately 2 hours. You may be disconnected from the wireless network for a brief period of time (approximately 5 to 10 minutes) during the maintenance period.

The REZ wireless network is not affected by this maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Source Site: /it

MOOCs and GROOCs on the move

Wed, 2014-07-02 15:20

McGill’s initial experiment with Massive Open Online Courses, or MOOCs, has been a success and the first offering, Food for Thought, will be repeated next year. More than 32,000 people from 160 countries, with an average age of 35 (a bit younger than normal) signed up for the MOOC. Almost 1,800 people completed all elements of the course, and another 7,000 people completed at least one assignment or test.

Source Site: /tls

McGill music theorists prominently featured in journal

Wed, 2014-07-02 11:24

The newest issue of Music Theory Online, one of the top-ranked music theory journals and one of the only open-access journals in music theory, features three different articles by McGill researchers: an exploration of meter in rock music (by Nicole Biamonte, associate professor of music theory), a teaching demonstration on cadences, counterpoint and improvisation in 17th-century Italian music theory and practice (by Peter Schubert, professor of music theory, and Massimilano Guido, postdoctoral student in music theory), and an exploration of the derivation and expressive possibilities of the

Source Site: /music
Classified as: