External Awards for Faculty

Prix du Québec

The Prix du Québec awards have been presented annually by the Québec government to honour exceptional achievements in science and culture.

Recent Winners of the Prix Léon-Gerin (humanities)

Professor Jean-Marie Dufour, Economics, 2008
Professor Marc Angenot, Département de langue et littérature françaises, 2005
Professor Michael Brecher, Political Science, 2000

Killam Prize

Administered by the Canada Council for the Arts, Killam Prizes provide support to scholars of exceptional ability who are engaged in research projects of broad significance adn widespread interest.

Recent Winners

Professor François Ricard, Département de langue et littérature françaises, 2009
Professor Jean Marie Dufour, Economics, 2006
Professor Margaret Lock, Anthropology, 2005

SSHRC Gold Medal Award

The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) Gold Medal for Achievement in Research Award is the SSHRC's highest honour. It is awarded to an individual whose leadership, dedication, and originality of thought have significantly advanced understanding in his or her field of research, enriched Canadian society, and contributed to the country's intellectual and cultural life.

Recent Winners

Professor Margaret Lock, Anthropology, 2005
Professor Charles Taylor, Philosophy, 2003

Kyoto Prize

The Kyoto Prize, considered to be Japan's "Nobel Prize", is a highly prestigious and competitive award given to individuals who have made lifetime contributions to the scientific, cultural and spiritual development and betterment of mankind.

Recent Winners

Professor Charles Taylor, Philosophy, 2008