Quick Links

Papachristidis Chair

Donor Wall


The Phrixos B. Papachristidis Chair in Modern Greek and Greek-Canadian Studies, formerly called the Chair in Modern Greek Language and Culture, was first established by family and friends in honour of, and named for, the late Montreal shipping industrialist in 1988. This endowed chair allows the University to attract and recruit eminently qualified experts in the field of Modern Greek studies.


    The Faculty of Arts of McGill University would like to thank the following donors for their leadership contributions to help support and preserve the Phrixos B. Papachristidis Chair in Modern Greek and Greek-Canadian Studies. 

    Gold Wreath: Donations of $100,000+

    The Multiculturalism Program of the Department of Canadian Heritage, Government of Canada

    Government of the Hellenic Republic

    The Papachristidis Family

    AHEPA Family Montreal


    Silver Wreath : Donations of $5,000-$99,999

    Hellenic Community of Ottawa

    AHEPA Family Charitable Foundation of Canada in memory of Nicholas Logothetis

    L’Association Samienne de Montreal - Pythagoras

    Mr. Kostas Andrikopoulos

    Mr. Miltiadis Antypas

    Dr. Constantine Emmanuel Benierakis

    Mr. John Bombakos

    Capt. Frederick Papachristidis Bove

    Mr. Alexander Papachristidis Bove

    Mr. Jimmy and Lina Christopoulos

    Daughters of Penelope

    Mr. Billy & George Dedes

    Lazarus and Mary Kalipolidis Family

    Dr. Betty Giannias

    Mr. Paul N. Kamateros

    Mr. Nick Karabineris

    Dr. Christos Karatzios

    Mr. Sam Kolias

    Mr. Peter Pamel

    Mr. Nick Papapanos

    John Manikis and Maria Papachristopoulos

    Mr. Nicholas Matziorinis

    Dr. Kenneth Matziorinis

    Mr. James & John Meraylas

    National Bank of Greece

    Mr. and Mrs. Steve and Doris Ramphos

    Mr. Stratton Stevens

    Mr. Fotios Spetsieris

    Mr. Louis Stergiou

    Mr. Anastasios Tagalakis

    Tzicas Family

    Dr. George M. Tsoukas, MD CM FRCP (C)

    Mr. Luc Vachon

    Mr. George Vassilas AHEPA Canada President 2011-2013

    Mr. Peter Volis

    Mr. Nick Vouloumanos

    We would also like to thank the fundraising committee for their guidance and leadership in helping McGill complete the campaign to fully endow the Chair:

    Mr. Andrew Christopoulos

    Mr. Basil Papaevagelou

    Dr. George M. Tsoukas MD CM FRCP (C)