Quick Links

2008-2009

  1. School Lecture Series 2008-2009
  2. Brown Bag: ASA-sponsored lecture series, Winter 2009
  3. Brown Bag: ASA-sponsored lecture series, Fall 2008

School Lecture Series 2008-2009

Place: Room G10 of the Macdonald-Harrington Building (unless otherwise noted)
Time: Mondays at 6:00 pm (unless otherwise noted)
Information: 398-6704
Coordination: Prof. Michael Jemtrud, Prof. Howard Davies, Prof. Martin Bressani, Ellen Bleiwas

Monday 15 September 2008

Tom Wiscombe
"Structural Ecologies"
Emergent Architecture, Los Angeles
(William Hobart Molson Lecture)

Monday 22 September 2008

Cynthia Ottchen
"The Future of Form with Data-Driven Design"
Office for Metropolitan Architecture, Rotterdam
(Gerald Sheff Visiting Professor in Architecture)

Monday 29 September 2008

Matthew Tanteri
"Light Explorations"
Tanteri & Associates, LLC, New York
(Canlyte Lighting Lecture)

Monday 6 October 2008

Julio César Pérez Hernández
"A Master Plan for XXI Century Havana"
Chair, Cuban Chapter, Council for European Urbanism
Havana, Cuba

Monday 20 October 2008

Michael Rotondi
RoTo Architects Inc., Los Angeles
(David J. Azrieli Lecture in Architecture)
NOTE special location: Moyse Hall, Arts Building
Reception to follow in the Exhibition Room of the School of Architecture

Monday 27 October 2008

Susan Weiler
"Sustaining the Environmental, Social and Economic Life of Cities"
Olin Partnership, Philadelphia
(Sheila Baillie Lecture)

Thursday 6 November 2008

Robert Jan van Pelt
"Architecture for Good or Evil"
University of Waterloo

Monday 10 November 2008

Romolo Martemucci
"Tracing Tactile Thought in Teaching Tectonics"
Associate Professor, Penn State
President, Accademia Adrianea, Rome

Monday 17 November 2008

Bing Thom
"Living on the Edge"
Bing Thom Architects, Vancouver

Monday 19 January 2009

Jody Beck
"The kind of problem a landscape is"
University of Pennsylvania
(Gerald Sheff Visiting Professor in Architecture)

Monday 26 January 2009

Lucien Lagrange
"'The Search for Elegance,' a Quest through Modern and Traditional Architecture"
Lucien Lagrange Architects, Chicago
Book signing and reception to follow lecture

Monday 2 March 2009

Torben Berns
"Surface Image"
(Planetary Society Visiting Professor in Architecture)

View a podcast of the lecture online.

Monday 9 March 2009

Gilles Marty
"The best square footage is the one we do not build"
Professor, École nationale supérieure d'architecture de Grenoble (ENSAG), France
NOTE special time: 6:30

Monday 16 March 2009

Nathaniel Stanton
(replaces Cristobal Correa)
"Fabrication Modelling: An illustration of its uses and relevance in the building design process"
Buro Happold, New York City
(Steel Structures Education Foundation Lecture)

Monday 23 March 2009

Marc Angélil
"Negotiating Circumstances"
ETH, Zurich
(Siew Fang Chan Lecture)


Brown Bag: ASA-sponsored lecture series,
Winter 2009

Place: Room 212 of the Macdonald-Harrington Building
Time: 12:30 to 1:30 pm (unless otherwise noted)
Coordination: Linh Truong and Junia-Elli Jorgji

Monday 19 January 2009

Klaus Troldborg
Henning Larsen Architects, Copenhagen
"Recent Works in Europe"

Tuesday 3 February 2009

Aaron Sprecher
McGill School of Architecture, Montreal
"From Formal to Behavioral Architecture
(or the Way to Make it Energetic)"

Tuesday 10 February 2009

Rob Claiborne, Ali Torabi, Hamza Alhbian, Jeffrey Ma, Valerie Buzaglo
"MothERship:
AIA/AAH Student Design Charrette 2008"

Tuesday 3 March 2009

Henri Cleinge
Henri Cleinge Architecte, Montreal
"Montreal Materiality"

Monday 9 March 2009

Will Aitken
"F.W. Murnau's Sunrise: Emotion and Architecture"

Tuesday 10 March 2009

Jean-Maxime Dufresne and Jean-François Prost
SYN – Atelier d’exploration urbaine, Montreal

Tuesday 17 March 2009

Maxime Turgeon
"Collective Housing: Sixteen European Projects"

Tuesday 24 March 2009

Mark Poddubiuk
L'OEUF - Pearl, Poddubiuk Architectes, Montreal
"1000 Homes"

Tuesday 31 March 2009

Roadsworth (Peter Gibson)
Roadsworth, Montreal
"Urban Projection"



Brown Bag: ASA-sponsored lecture series,
Fall 2008

Place: Room 212 of the Macdonald-Harrington Building
Time: 12:30 to 1:30 pm (unless otherwise noted)
Coordination: Linh Truong and Junia-Elli Jorgji

Wednesday 19 November 2008

Association des Stagiaires en Architecture du Québec (ASAQ)
"Information seminar on internship and the new exam + tips to make it easier"