Academic Policy Committee

Thursday 12th December 2013 3:00 - 5:00 p.m., in Room 302, James Building

	Proposed Agenda (rev 2013-12-11)		
		Documents	TIME
1.	Approval of proposed agenda		
2.	Minutes of previous APC meeting held on 21 st November 2013 (for approval)	on APC website	
3.	Business arising (see items 4a&b)		
4.	APC Subcommittee on Academic Unit Reviews (for presentation and discussion)		
	 a) APC Assessments - identification of issues for comment in earlier reviews: i. Review of the Department of Philosophy 		
	- documents pertaining to the review	13-APC-05-79abcd	e
	- Summary and List of Recommendations	13-APC-05-80	
	ii. Review of the Department of Translation & Written Communication (SCS)	1	
	- documents pertaining to the review	13-APC-10-08abcd	!
	- Summary and List of Recommendations	13-APC-10-09	
1	b) Review of the Department of Pathology		
	i. Review documents:	13-APC-12-33	
	a. Self Study	Appendix a	
	b. Internal Reviewers Report and External Reviewers' Report	Appendix b	
		Appendix c	
		Appendix d	
	ii. Summary of Review and List of Recommendations	13-APC-12-34	
	Summarisers: Prof. Sarah Stroud (APC), Adam Bouchard (graduate student)		3:30 p.m.
	c) Verbal proposal to review the Academic Unit Review process		
5.	APC Subcommittee on Professional Programs (for approval)		
	- Proposed membership	13-APC-12-35	
6.	APC Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP)		
	a) SCTP Report # 5 from SCTP meeting on 14 th November 2013 (for approval)	13-APC-12-36	
	i. School of Continuing Studies (Guest: Kevin Parent, Faculty Lecturer, SCS)		3:20 p.m.
	Graduate Certificate; Professional Accounting (24 cr.)	Appendix A	
	ii. Desautels Faculty of Management (Guest: Professor Julia Scott)		د د رورور
	Graduate Certificate; Professional Accounting (24 cr.)	Appendix B	
	iii. Schulich School of Music (Guest: Professor Julie Cumming)		3:05 p.m.
		Appendix C	
	iv. Faculty of Science (Guest: Professor Frédéric Guichard, Dept of Biology)	11	3:10 p.m.
		Appendix D	5.10 p.m.
	D.Sc., Diology, Qualitative Diology, Honours	Appendix D	
	b) Approval Paths for Courses and Programs – revised (for approval)	13-APC-12-37	
7.	Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (for approval)		
	a) MOA – McGill - Université Paris-Sud XI joint doctoral degree	13-APC-12-31	
	b) MOA – McGill - University of Edinburgh joint doctoral degree	13-APC-12-32	
8	International Student Exchange Partnerships/Exchanges (for approval)		
	Student Mobility Partnership – Shantou University	13-APC-12-38	
-	Suden moonty rathership – Shanou Oniversity	1 5-AI U-12-J 0	
9.	Other business		

Academic Policy Committee of Senate 2013-2014

Membership

Provost, Chair of the Committee Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures, and Equity), Vice Chair Deputy Provost (Student Life & Learning) Chair, Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP) and Chair, Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning (STL) Associate Provost (Graduate Education) & Dean of Grad. & Postdoct. Studies, Chair, Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS) Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations), Chair, APC Subcommittee on Continuing Education **Dean of Continuing Studies** Dean of Libraries or delegate Interim Director, Teaching and Learning Services Board of Governors Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Faculty of Arts Faculty of Dentistry School of Information Studies, Faculty of Education Faculty of Engineering Faculty of Law Desautels Faculty of Management Faculty of Medicine Schulich School of Music Faculty of Religious Studies Faculty of Science Vice-President (University Affairs), SSMU Undergraduate student Undergraduate student Graduate student Alternate graduate student Student, Macdonald Campus **Continuing Education Student** Academic Program Officer (Secretary to the Committee)

Martin Kreiswirth Sarah Stroud Judith Potter C. Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain Laura Winer Sally McDougall (2016) William Hendershot (2014) John Galbraith (2015) Laura Stone (2014) Kimiz Dalkir (2014) Arun Misra (2014) Wendy Adams (2014) Emine Sarigöllü (2016) Craig Mandato (2014) Steven Huebner (2015) Ian Henderson (2016) Laurie Hendren (2014) Joey Shea Farzan Subhani Alvin Kuate Defo **Boran Xu Alexander Deguise** Stephanie Somasundaram **Darine Bader Julie Degans**

Anthony C. Masi

Lydia White

Ollivier Dyens

Meeting dates (2013-2014)

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room 302 James Administration Building, unless otherwise indicated September: 19 October: 3 and 31 November: 21 December: 12 January: 9 February: 6 and 20 6 and 20 (Room 301, James) March: April: 3 and 17 May: 15 (Room 301, James)

HMCR APPC-docs/membership-dates/2013-2014