Academic Policy Committee

Thursday 17th January 2013

3:00 - 5:00 p.m., in Room 302, James Administration Building

Agenda

1. Proposed agenda	TIM	E
2. Minutes of previous APC meeting held on 13 th December 2012	on APC website	
3. Business arising		
4. Board of Governors approval from meeting on 13 th December 2012		
 5. Research Advisory Council (for approval) Proposal for the creation of a "McGill Centre for Health and Economic Converg presented by the Desautels Faculty of Management Guests:	ence", 13-APC-01-42 3:05]	p.m.
 Report from the SCTP meeting of 6th December 2012 A. New program: B.A.; Joint Honours – African Studies Component (36 cr.) Guest: Professor John Galaty, Department of Anthropology B. New program: B.Com.; Major in Organizational Behaviour (30 cr.) Guest: Professor Mary Dean Lee, Desautels Faculty of Management C. New program: B.Sc.; Honours in Neuroscience (74 cr.) D. New program: B.Sc.; Minor in Earth System Science (18 cr.) E. New program: B.Sc.; Honours in Earth System Science (66 cr.) F. New program: M.A.; Art History; Thesis (45 cr.) Guest: Professor Amelia Jones, Department of Art History and Communication Studies 	Appendix A Appendix B Appendix C Appendix D Appendix E Appendix F 3:00 p	o.m.
7. Approval Paths for New and Revised Courses and Teaching Programs Revised 11 th January 2013 (for approval)	12-APC-12-32 REVISED	
8. Retirement of Zero-enrolment Courses (<i>for approval</i>) Revised Memorandum from Deputy-Provost (Student Life and Learning), 15 th January 2013	12-APC-12-41 REVISED	

9. Other business

REGRETS: please advise $\underline{\textit{Helen.Richard@mcgill.ca}}$ or Teresa Dagostino (398-3109)

Academic Policy Committee of Senate 2012-2013

Membership

Anthony C. Masi Provost, Chair of the Committee

Morton J. Mendelson Deputy-Provost (Student Life and Learning), Vice Chair

Chair of the Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP)

Chair of the Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning (SCTL)

Martin Kreiswirth Associate Provost (Graduate Education) & Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral

Studies, Chair of the Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS)

Sarah Stroud Associate Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations)

Judith Potter Dean of Continuing Studies C. Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain Dean of Libraries or delegate

Cynthia Weston Director, Teaching and Learning Services

Sally McDougall (2010) Board of Governors

William Hendershot (2014) Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

John Galbraith (2015) Faculty of Arts Laura Stone (2014) Faculty of Dentistry

Kimiz Dalkir (2014) School of Information Studies, Faculty of Education

Arun Misra (2014) Faculty of Engineering

Wendy Adams (2014) Faculty of Law

Paola Perez-Aleman (2013) Desautels Faculty of Management

Craig Mandato (2014) Faculty of Medicine
Steven Huebner (2015) Schulich School of Music
Ian Henderson (2013) Faculty of Religious Studies

Laurie Hendren (2014) Faculty of Science

Haley Hatch-Dinel Vice-President (University Affairs), SSMU

Edward Chiang (to 11-2012) /

Nikhil Srinidhi (fr 14-11-2012) Undergraduate student Max Zidel Undergraduate student Avik (Jim) Ghoshdastidar Graduate student

Peter TikaszStudent, Macdonald CampusEric LaverdiereContinuing Studies Student

Helen M.C. Richard Academic Planning Officer (Secretary to the Committee)

Meeting dates

Thursdays, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. in Room 302 James Administration Building unless otherwise indicated

September: 13 (cancelled)
October: 4 and 25
November: 8 and 22
December: 13 (Arts 160)
January: 17 and 31

February: 14 March: 7 and 21

April: 11 (*Ferrier 456*) May: 2 and 23 (*Arts 160*)

HMCR APPC-docs/membership-dates/2012-2013