# **Academic Policy Committee**

### Thursday 10<sup>th</sup> November 2011

## 3:30 - 5:00 p.m., in Room 302, James Administration Building

#### Agenda

1.	<b>Proposed</b>	agenda
	LIUPUBCU	ugunuu

2. Minutes of previous meeting held on 27th October 2011

on website

- 3. Business arising
- 4. Report on approvals by Board of Governors, 1st November 2011
- 5. APC Subcommittee on Academic Unit Reviews

a) Subcommittee proposal to APC 11-APC-11-31 a (website)

b) Summary template 11-APC-11-31 b (website)

6. Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS)

2011 Annual Report 11-APC-11-32 (website)

7. Revised Thesis Review Procedures

- Senate Question regarding revised thesis review procedures and Response 11-APC-10-30 (website)

- Changes in thesis examination procedures

Memo from Martin Kreiswirth, Associate Provost (Graduate Education),

Dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, 3<sup>rd</sup> November 2011 11-APC-11-33 (website)

Professor Meyer Nahon, Associate Dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

#### 8. Other business

REGRETS: please advise <u>Helen.Richard@mcgill.ca</u>

# Academic Policy Committee of Senate 2011-2012

#### Membership

Anthony C. Masi Provost, Chair of the Committee

Morton J. Mendelson Deputy-Provost (Student Life and Learning), Vice Chair

Chair of the Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs (SCTP)

Chair of the Subcommittee on Teaching and Learning (SCTL)

Martin Kreiswirth Associate Provost (Graduate Education) & Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral

Studies, Chair of the Council of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (CGPS)

**Rose Goldstein** Vice-Principal (Research and International Relations)

Judith Potter Dean of Continuing Studies

C. Colleen Cook/Carole Urbain Dean of Libraries or delegate

Cynthia Weston Director, Teaching and Learning Services

Sally McDougall (2010) Board of Governors

William Hendershot (2014) Faculty of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Wendy Thomson (2012) School of Social Work, Faculty of Arts

**Laura Stone** (2014) Faculty of Dentistry

**Kimiz Dalkir** (2014) School of Information Studies, Faculty of Education

**Arun Misra** (2014) Faculty of Engineering

Wendy Adams (2014) Faculty of Law

Paola Perez-Aleman (2013) Desautels Faculty of Management

Craig Mandato (2014) Faculty of Medicine

Marcelo Wanderley (2013) Department of Music Research, Schulich School of Music

Ian Henderson (2013) Faculty of Religious Studies

**Laurie Hendren** (2014) Faculty of Science

**Emily Yee Clare** Vice-President (University Affairs), SSMU

Haley Hatch-DinelUndergraduate studentMax LukeUndergraduate studentAdam BouchardGraduate student

Olivier Gautheron Student, Macdonald Campus Rafael Mayor-Mora Continuing Studies Student

Helen M.C. Richard Academic Planning Officer (Secretary to the Committee)

# **Meeting dates**

**Thursdays**, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. unless otherwise announced. Meeting place: until 6<sup>th</sup> October, in Room 326, Wilson Hall.

From 27<sup>th</sup> October onwards: Room 302, James Administration Building.

September: 1 and 15 October: 6 and 27 November: 10 and 24

December: 8
January: 19
February: 2 and 16
March: 15
April: 5 and 19
May: 3 and 24

HMCR APPC-docs/membership-dates/2011-2012