Minutes of the meeting of the Academic Policy Committee held on Thursday 8th October 2009, from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.,

Room 310, James Administration Building

Present: M.J. Mendelson (chairing), J. Angeles, W. Caplin, J. Côté, A. DeGuise, R. Dooley, V. Errunza, W. Hendershot,

P. Holland, M. Kaartinen, D. Klinck, M. Kreiswirth, S. MacDougall, M. Mehta, J. Schmidt, S. Woolf,

H.M.C. Richard (Secretary to the Committee)

Regrets: G. Brown, D. Farrow, E. Gayagoy, A. Gauthier, A.C. Masi, J. Potter, R. Rozen, M. Szyf, W. Thomson, C. Weston

Guests: S. Frenkiel (item 4), P. Smith

Documents circulated at the meeting: none

02.01 Proposed agenda

The agenda was approved as circulated.

02.02 Minutes of previous meeting held on 24th September 2009

The minutes were adopted, with deletion of Ariane Gauthier's name in the list of members present.

02.03 Business arising

Workgroup on Nomenclature of Academic Entities.

Associate Provost (Graduate Education) Martin Kreiswirth reported on progress regarding the pilot questionnaire that the APC Workgroup on Nomenclature of Academic Entities presented to APC at its meeting on 28th May. The Workgroup has been considering academic unit designations at McGill with reference to the official definitions approved in 1977 and 1999. The Provost's Academic Planning Group (APG) advised that it would be faster to gather the information available centrally, rather than resort to a questionnaire that may generate unease and resistance in the units being targeted. The Workgroup will continue its work in light of this advice.

02.04 Department of Otolaryngology - proposal for name change to Department of Otolaryngology - Head and **Neck Surgery** (09-APC-10-11)

Dr. Saul Frenkiel, Chair, Department of Otolaryngology presented the proposal to change the name of the Department of Otolaryngology to "Department of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery". He explained that this was a more comprehensive name that will more accurately reflect the current nature of the discipline at McGill and will be in line with Otolaryngology departments around the world. The Council of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) has elected to rename the specialty "Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery". The request had been endorsed by the Faculty of Medicine and by the Dean.

The proposal to change the name of the Department of Otolaryngology to the "Department of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery" was approved by APC for submission to Senate for further **approval** (it will be included in APC's 415th Report to Senate, for consideration on 4th November 2009). If approved by Senate, the proposal will be submitted to the Board of Governors for final approval.

02.05 **APC Subcommittee on Courses and Teaching Programs**

a) SCTP membership (09-APC-10-12)

APC approved the two recommendations submitted by SCTP regarding its membership:

- the appointment of Professor Miranda Hickman (Faculty of Arts) as a new member for a three-year term ending 31st August 2012 replacing Associate Dean Mary McKinnon whose membership ended on 31st August;
- the re-appointment of Associate Dean Bruce Minorgan (Schulich School of Music) for a three-year term ending 31st August 2012.

b) SCTP Report on meeting held on 10th September 2009 (09-APC-10-13)

The report did not include any item requiring APC approval.

c) Annual Report to APC (09-APC-10-10)

APC received SCTP's annual report. **APC approved the proposed revisions to SCTP's composition,** which reflect recent changes to the names of two services: Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies (formerly "Director of Graduate Studies Office"), and Enrolment Services (formerly Admissions, Recruitment and Registrar's Office).

02.06 Academic Program Reviews: Progress Reports on Action Plans

The Academic Program Review Process requires that faculties should each submit a progress report on actions taken with respect to the recommendations and action plan in Appendix X of the Review Reports, six months following their presentation to Senate and publication in summary form. As the first two progress reports were circulated to APC (Dentistry and Medicine), it was thought that APC should decide how they should be presented: either by the Dean or an Associate Dean, or by the FRG chair or the Faculty's representative on APC. **APC agreed that faculty representatives on APC should present the reports**. These progress reports are not intended for presentation to Senate, but their submission to APC will be reported in APC's report to Senate. No further follow-up reporting is required by the Academic Program Review Process.

a) Faculty of Dentistry (09-APC-10-14)

Associate Provost (Graduate Education) Martin Kreiswirth and Professor Mari Kaartinen commented on the report, which deals essentially with graduate studies. The Ph.D. in Allied Health Sciences was said to be in an early stage of development.

b) Faculty of Medicine (09-APC-10-15)

Professor Paul Holland commented on the report that was put together by Dr. Elaine C. Davis, Assistant Dean, Biomedical B.Sc. and Graduate Studies. Following the section of the report pertaining to twenty programs in "Basic Sciences, Clinical Sciences and Graduate Programs", the report on the MDCM, prepared by Dr. Joyce Pickering, Associate Dean, Medical Education and Student Affairs, is a response to the accreditation body of which a summary was circulated. It was noted that, although imperfect, the Academic Program Review process had been beneficial at the Faculty level and urged positive steps forward, such as the coordination of recruiting efforts among Basic Sciences partners. It was also stated that the six-month follow-up report requirement had made it easier to get units engaged in the process of taking action on Academic Program Review recommendations and reporting.

The meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.