Quick Links


A Minor concentration in Anthropology consists of 18 credits (six 3-credit courses) in the discipline. The Minor concentration currently offered is designed to complement students' courses of study in other related disciplines or in interdisciplinary programs. The degree may enhance the employment profile of graduating students wishing to work in social services, in multicultural or multiethnic settings, in international development, aboriginal history, museum work, or in educational or media related professions.

Students should register in the Minor concentration prior to their second year of study at McGill. No credits taken in a Minor may overlap with another degree program. These Minor concentrations may be expanded into the single Anthropology Major concentration.

BA: Minor Concentration in Anthropology (18 credits)

6-9 credits at the 200-level

6-12 credits from any 300-, 400-, or 500-level Anthropology courses (only 3 credits of which can be at the 400- or 500-level; further, only 1 Special Topic course can be taken)

  • click here for a list of our courses


The two anthropology minors (Minor Concentration in Socio-Cultural Anthropology and the Minor Concentration in Anthropological Archaeology) were retired at the end of 2004. Students enrolled in either one at that time have the option of remaining in the program or transferring into the Minor Concentration in Anthropology.