Quick Links

Quick facts


McGill at a glance

McGill University was founded in 1821 and 9,134 degrees were granted in the 2014-2015 academic year.

The downtown campus is located at 845 Sherbrooke St. W. in Montreal, Quebec, and the Macdonald campus is located at 21111 Lakeshore Road in St. Anne de Bellevue, Quebec.

Leadership at McGill

The chancellor at McGill is Michael A. Meighen and the Chair of McGill's Board of Governors is Stuart "Kip" Cobbett.

McGill's principal and vice-chancellor is Suzanne Fortier.


The total number of students enrolled in 2015 was 39,988. McGill has churned out 139 Rhodes Scholars; more than any other Canadian university.

McGill has 1,667 tenured and tenure-stream faculty members.

Faculties and schools

McGill has 11 faculties and 11 schools.

McGill has been awarded $477.8 million in research funding (2013-2014)


There are 4 teaching hospitals affiliated with McGill, and McGill is home to Canada's first Faculty of Medicine, established in 1829.