Quick Links

Business and industry

  • Jean-Michel Arès, BEng'86, MEng'88, MBA'92, is Chief Technology & Operations Officer, BMO Financial Group. He served as Senior Vice-President and Chief Information Officer of The Coca-Cola Company from 2002 to 2010.
  • Formerly the President Chief Executive Officer of UTC Propulsion & Aerospace Systems at Pratt and Whitney Canada, Alain Bellemare, MBA'93, is currently President and Chief Executive Officer at Bombardier Inc.
  • Philanthropist, activist and entrepreneur Edgar Bronfman, BA'51, was the former Chair of the Seagram Company. In 1981 he was elected as President of the World Jewish Congress, a post he held for 26 years. In 1999 he was presented with the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the United States' highest civilian honour.
  • Canadian businessman and former Chairman and CEO of the Royal Bank of Canada, John Cleghorn, BCom'62, LLD’04, was made an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2001. 
  • Livio DeSimone, BEng'57, DSc'94, is the former Chair and CEO of 3M. He currently serves as a Director of Cargill Inc., Milliken & Company Inc., and American Express Funds.
  • Paul Desmarais, Jr., BCom'77, is the Chairman and Co-CEO of Power Corporation of Canada.
  • Darren Entwistle, MBA'88, is Executive Chairman of TELUS.
  • Guy Hachey, BCom'78, former President and CEO of Bombardier Aerospace.
  • Rhodes Scholar John McCall MacBain, BA'81, founded Trader Classified Media and served as its President and CEO until 2006. Under his leadership, it has become one of the world's largest classified advertising companies. He is a founder of the McCall MacBain Foundation and of the European Climate Foundation.
  • Ronald Meade, BA'61, is a co-founder and Chairman at Miralta Capital Corp.
  • McGill University professor Henry Mintzberg, BEng'61, is an acclaimed management thinker, author and iconoclast, who has advised some of the world's largest corporations. He was made an Officer of the Order of Canada in 1997.
  • Claude Mongeau, MBA’88, is the President and CEO of CN Rail, which operates the largest rail network in Canada and the only transcontinental network in North America.
  • Seymour Schulich, BSc'61, MBA'65, DLitt’04, is a leading Canadian philanthropist and entrepreneur. He was made an Officer of Order of Canada in 2012.
  • Lorne Trottier, BEng'70, MEng'73, DSc’06, is an engineer, businessman and philanthropist. He is the co-founder of Matrox Electronic Systems Ltd.
  • Les Vadasz, BEng'61, DSc’07, is one of the founding members of Intel Corporation, where he served as President and Executive Vice President until 2003. He is currently a Director at eSionic Corp.